Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: my laser and laser building questions thread

Default my laser and laser building questions thread

OK. So first I'd like to say I own and operate some 1W laser projectors and I also make and sell some laser frames and animations. I've taken a laser safety course and understand the laser dangers, risks and safety.
    But it all started as a wallet-blackhole hobby and still is a hobby. Jut nothing out there I can compare to the awe from cool bright laser graphics and beams.
    I've been more into making abstracts and other animations for laser projectors. My electronics knowledge is very limited. Though I've replaced fans and taken apart complete laser projectors and replaced damaged laser modules so not a complete noob either I guess.

Now I want to make my own lasers and learn some more how the tools I've used work internally. I don't want to make my own laser projectors or real laser modules with modulation etc control, nor a handheld laser. Just my own home lasers I can turn on/off and see how much I can improve and how bright I can get them

The tutorials on Youtube on making a red laser from old dvd burners were a piece of cake to follow.
    But they don't go any deeper than that.

I want to know how to make brighter lasers (multi-diode lasers), actually have some idea how I should set up proper cooling and stuff like that. And info on those are hard to find, limited or if any, a bit confusing for me at least.

I know this is going to be difficult, time consuming and costy, but most importantly fun
    So hope you guys will be patient with all the questions I have now and help me get somewhere. I'll post pics and videos of my results as I progress.

BTW, I also have two 3d printers, another newer hobby of mine. Taken those apart several times already as well.

OK, so I guess my first questions will be: