Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 456789 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 84

Thread: newb alert. help me into this laser code writin' stuff please...

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    793

    Default

    Hey Mr 1977, what's your real name? I'll email ya my code (when I get home) if ya like.
    Cool, Steve. I send you a private message with my email.

    Also, I meant to convey why Etherdream works with .wav files. In the early days, before computers and with the first appearance of computers, the laser images were all XY composites of analog waveforms (Lissajous figures in essence combining harmonic XY relationships, adding XY amplitude modulation harmonic relationships, harmonic summations such as Sin(X1+X2), Cos(Y1+Y2, etc.), all of which were in the audio frequency range making them ideal to store electronically as stereo (XY) audio .wav files.
    Last edited by lasermaster1977; 01-16-2018 at 17:02. Reason: adding .wav file info
    ________________________________
    Everything depends on everything else

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnYayas View Post
    It's fun to me. I have been doing this sort of thing for years.
    I wish I could say the same.

    the "for years" part, obviously. it is DEFINITELY fun for meee.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    2,292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lasermaster1977 View Post
    Don't recall exactly, John, but it had to do with the 2015 library of "stuff". When I installed 2017 I only selected basics and Windows related app dev stuff, so the Etherdream .cpp loaded fine and I could browse the code. Because 2017 barked about not having the 2015 something or another when the .cpp file loaded, I also installed the 2015 version and all was good with it.
    I am guessing you have it set to use the VS 2015 C++ compiler. If you want to check, right click on the project and select Properties. Go to the "General" under "Configuration Properties" and look at the Platform Toolset. If you have it set to Visual Studio 2015 you can change it to Visual Studio 2017 to take advantage of the newer compiler. If there is Windows XP target if you need to support that. I don't support XP anymore.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    793

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnYayas View Post
    I am guessing you have it set to use the VS 2015 C++ compiler. If you want to check, right click on the project and select Properties. Go to the "General" under "Configuration Properties" and look at the Platform Toolset. If you have it set to Visual Studio 2015 you can change it to Visual Studio 2017 to take advantage of the newer compiler. If there is Windows XP target if you need to support that. I don't support XP anymore.
    Hey John, thanks for reply. It was complaining that the current toolset was 140 and did I want to change to 141.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2018-01-17 14_57_48-EtherDream - Microsoft Visual Studio.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	74.4 KB 
ID:	53459

    I selected update to 141 and the config now looks like this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2018-01-17 15_02_22-EtherDream - Microsoft Visual Studio.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	249.0 KB 
ID:	53460

    But when the project loads I no longer see the project object list in the right pane, just a "Team Explorer-Connect" pane. This is because (newbie alert), when I closed out the Etherdream project files I closed each individual window in the right pane and I don't know how to bring them back.

    So I looked again and fixed it by Windows > "Reset Window Layout".
    ________________________________
    Everything depends on everything else

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    2,292

    Default

    If you close those panes on the right you can open then from the View menu. To show the projects you would click View->Solution Explorer.
    I see you are targeting Windows 10 and using Win 10 SDK. I am not entirely sure how that works to be honest. I have my target platform set to "Windows" and my SDK version is set to 8.1. I do this so that I can support Windows 7. Not sure if that is quite accurate, though. I need to investigate that some but so far I haven't had any issues.

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    793

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnYayas View Post
    I see you are targeting Windows 10 and using Win 10 SDK.
    Many thanks, John. Actually, I'm not targeting anything under my own volition. Its just the way the 2017 IDE came up after the installation. I do remember during the installation selecting other junk to include "Windows" and previous version of Windows except XP. I first thought I would download and install the 2017 IDE to see if I could open the etherdream project files. I've since installed the 2015 IDE in addition and use it making sure I didn't close any side pane/windows.
    ________________________________
    Everything depends on everything else

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    ok. what's a reasonable max # of DACs to handle?

    I'm thinkin 80. I'm personally not plannin on havin more than 3.

    Do you got a max for your stuff, John? I'll have to take a look some day.

    Now I'm redesigning so I can balance the color with a
    min/max r/g/b settings.

    And figure while I'm at it, let you flip the x,y axes and
    scale to a certain x,y,w,h.

    Then when I use a r,g,b and send the frame, it can scale it so
    FF,FF,FF actually =IZ= white.

    and same with 1,1,1.

    So I guess there's no way to get grey outa these things, eh.
    Ah well.

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    2,292

    Default

    I don't have a max # set for DACs. I can support 1000 as easily as 2 in software. Realistically, 1000 DACs will never work but no one is ever going to use more than a handful so I let physical reality be the limit instead of software limitations.

    Gray is relative. You can get gray from a black and white movie projector so I assume you can get gray from a laser projector.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    793

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stephenhazel View Post
    ok. what's a reasonable max # of DACs to handle?

    I'm thinkin 80. I'm personally not plannin on havin more than 3.

    Do you got a max for your stuff, John? I'll have to take a look some day.

    Now I'm redesigning so I can balance the color with a
    min/max r/g/b settings.

    And figure while I'm at it, let you flip the x,y axes and
    scale to a certain x,y,w,h.

    Then when I use a r,g,b and send the frame, it can scale it so
    FF,FF,FF actually =IZ= white.

    and same with 1,1,1.

    So I guess there's no way to get grey outa these things, eh.
    Ah well.
    How about starting with 8, 16, 32, or 64?
    ________________________________
    Everything depends on everything else

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    97

    Default

    omg have you guys seen this error...

    warning C4309: 'initializing': truncation of constant value

    SO ANNOYING! i wanna just initialize my array of structs.

    But if the struct member type is a uword, you HAVE to cast a 0. so you HAVE to write (uword)0.

    That is soo duuuuuuuuuuuuuumb !!

    That's one damn compiler warning i'm gonna have to turn off.
    Why is that something i gotta turn off? Why would anybody WANT that... grumble...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •