Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Howto: simple Differential Amp + TTL ?

Default Howto: simple Differential Amp + TTL ?

Hello Folks!

I have a 6ch CMedia ready and want to build an quick & dirty correction board.

Could you help me?

I drawed a plan with the patient help of Nicolas (weartronics) and his great Differential Amp Design. As i cant get the ±9V DC Converter here, only 5 to ±12V, which wont get enought power from usb; i thought of taking one of the 12V wallwarts i have colleting dust, and creating ±5V from it by splitting regulated 10V. the dropout of the IC is 2V so it fits, or not?

Also, i have a only TTL modulated Laser (Pf-114) so i dont need real linear amplifying by now, it should just be able to blank the Laser with Spaghetti and HE. Maybe someone could give me a solution that uses only Transistors for the RGB chan or even raw unamped Soundcard Output.

Sorry im a total noob in Electronics. i can solder even SMD without problems but have no clue how the stuff works and how to design a circuit from scratch and what parts i need etc...

Thanks
    TC
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 300mw_rgb_animation_lao40c.jpg  

image0021o34a.jpg  

Hint #1: Swap Voffset and your DAC inputs. Otherwise, you'd be amplifying the offset and doing something strange with the DAC input alongside it... not what you want, probably. You'll want the offset voltage to act as a ground for the op-amps... for a single amplifier stage in the chain only.

As for the power supply: Try to get some 1N4001/1N4002's and build a bridge rectifier with a few capacitors, and an LM7805/7905 combo. That way, you will get some nice stable +/-5V supply lines with the ground isolated from the adaptor's negative supply, and, more importantly, you can use a simple 9VAC stomp box adapter to power it.

If you want to do everything 'just right', add a fuse and power switch, and make sure the op-amp's power supplies are filtered near the chips with 1uF or so of capacitance to ground.