Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1st scanner build, the questions start here.

Default 1st scanner build, the questions start here.

Hello fellow laser lovers,

I just started putting together my first scanner build and I have a few questions to start with and I will have many more as I progress in my build. I am a CNC programmer so building the parts is easy for me but I have no electrical experience except for building my own laser modules.

Right now I'm working on the wiring aspect. I'm trying to follow what this guy is doing as his setup looks very professional. http://www.photonlexicon.com/forums/showthread.php/10314-Need-some-help!-My-first-RGB-projector-project-(expecting-approx.-2W-system)?p=140261#post140261 Although his setup is more complex and I don't understand the interlock circuits. I can just barely comprehend a wiring diagram so this is all new to me.

I have these power supplys: 5v, 12v, 5v ( for LW 532), 5v (for LW 473), and the +/- 24 for my ScanPro 40's. So I should tie all the AC Line's together at a single point and have a fuse connected to them coming into the projector. Then I would do that same with the AC Neutral except no fuse is needed. The AC Ground should then all be tied together and grounded to my baseplate.
    After I do all that I would need to make sure my lasers are isolated from the baseplate correct? Do the laserwave modules need any additional isolation or do the come isolated all ready? All my homebuilt modules are all ready isolated except for my 650nm which I can isolate by having the baseplate anodized.
    Now for the DC: I would simply connect the + to + for each corespnding component and then the - I would tie them all together and connect them to ILDA pin 25? What goes on pin 25? I am using a soundcard DAC so would I have to connect anything to it when I wiring up the DAC to the ILDA cable output?