Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Generating laser images

Laser Warning Generating laser images

Hi everyone, firstly I am a total newbie to lasers but I have done alot of research before posting this message so be nice

I want to use a laser in an interactive art installation. I would be using an xbox kinect or some other motion detectors and then creating images with the laser based on detected movement. The motion tracking would be done in Openframeworks and then I would send a signal through osc to something that can generate laser images.

I have looked at different options to achieve this.

1) Using Pangolin QuickShow and triggering things in it through midi or osc
    2) Using VVVV and the minilumax (http://www.lumax.de/)

Option 2 seems like it would be better but I can't find anywhere to by the minilumax online, I have emailed the company and waiting to hear back.

So I guess my question is are there any other options to achieve what I want or is there any other advice someone can give me?

Also I should have added that I a fairly experienced C++ and Java programmer so happy to hear any programming based solutions

EtherDream supports OSC native on the hardware. You can load up the SD card with ILDA files and call them. Maybe you can tie it into the onboard abstract generator? Have not even attempted abstracts with it so it might not be complete. https://github.com/j4cbo/j4cDAC
    Last edited by Picasso; 03-13-2012 at 18:06.

Donkeykong, you should also consider LSX control software. With it, you can use MIDI or OSC inputs to not only trigger but control any aspect of the art and frames. Also, you can type in any formula to manipulate your frames in 3D space, and move,warp,and color them according to motions that you pick up.

you can check it out here:
    http://www.photonlexicon.com/forums/...ames-Much-More