Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Strobes: Xenon vs LED

Default Strobes: Xenon vs LED

Hey guys, Halloween is a few months away and I am in need of 3 ~ 4 strobes (simulated lightning). I was going to get some DMX ones and run them from LD2000. When I search for DMX strobes, all I seem to find are LED strobes. I don't have a problem with them per se, but they are large and bulky looking. I imagine they need to be that large (banks upon banks of LEDs) to get the same light output as a xenon lamp. I have never used LED strobes before and was wondering what you guys thought. Should I try to stick with the old school xenon type strobes or should I try some of these LED panels? I will be illuminating a front yard, not indoors. Cost is a very slight concern but I don't want to pay a lot for LED strobes simply becuase they are "new tech".
    If you're the smartest person in the room, then you're in the wrong room.

I think xenon tube is much better than LED. Absolutely.
    It is much more powerful, brighter and cheaper.
    I go for xenon. No doubt.
    my webpage
    http://stevemilani.jimdo.com
    Skype ID: stevemilani957

my RGB analogue projectors:
    3.9 W (640/532/445) 30kpps
    2.6 W (655/532/450) 30kpps
    2.5 W (638/532/450) 30kpps
    0.7 W (test unit)(635/532/473) 18kpps

Thanks, man. I'll see if I can find a decent DMX one. If not, I'll probably pick up one of Dave's DMX relay boards and just build some strobes myself. Xenon tubes, trigger coils, SCRs and caps are cheap! I didn't think the LED types would match even a small xenon tube, unless I got a huge panel, which would kill the effect. Thanks again!

The other consideration between the two : zenon are high voltage devices and LED are (for the comparison) low voltage devices.