Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Looking for a laser to cut acrylic in a DIY CNC machine.

Default Looking for a laser to cut acrylic in a DIY CNC machine.

Hi Guys

I am really new to lasers and think I am being a bit ambitious for my first build.

I am interested in building my own CNC cutting machine and would like to use a laser to cut Perspex and Acrylic sheets up to 6mm thick (White and Clear in color)

I initially was thiking of using a 455nm 9mm Diode from DTR's Laser Shop but have been cautioned about my laser selection.
    The main concern is the cutting ability of the 455nm laser. Will this laser be able to cut through 6mm Acrylic after 2 passes or will it just burn and melt?
    What would the best laser be for this purpose?

PS. I am trying to build this machine on a really low budget.

Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Xproximity

Hi Xproximity,

Welcome to PL.

445nm isn't really the place to look for cutting. It can be used for engraving some materials. There has been a fantastic thread posted on using 445nm diodes to engrave wood on here recently but I cant remember what the tread title was.

If you want to cut things, CO2 lasers are where it's at. Speaking of things, user name "things" who is on laserpointerforum too, built his own CO2 cutter a while ago.

Being new to lasers, I wouldn't suggest jumping straight into building a CO2 laser cutter though. The beam is invisible and to cut 3mm acrylic you need approx 40W of power from a CO2 tube. High powered invisible beams, electricity and water could be a dangerous mix to start out with.

Have a look here. This really is incredibly cheap for what it is. You aren't going to really cut anything for much less than this.
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-Deskt...item1e7b9e4154

This is probably the best place to start with cutting. It is a turn key system that is relatively safe. It won't cut 6mm acrylic but if you want that, you will have to spend quiet a bit more money.