Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50

Thread: LED strip ropes advice

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    792

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heroic View Post
    I think everything's in stock now- here's a video of what we did last weekend with it.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-l5s3P51Es
    That is freaking awesome. Love that idea of going round palm trees. I wish I could take this to Goa with me in October.
    The clubs would love it.

    Graham

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    792

    Default

    In the description of the PixelPusher Board on this page.... http://www.heroicrobotics.com/order ... it says that it controls 8 strips. So how do you add more?

    Thanks
    Graham

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    nerdtown, USA
    Posts
    1,165

    Default

    To add more strips you simply add more controllers. They network together in a self-organizing network that can be extended indefinitely without user intervention- you plug in another controller and it goes. We ran five controllers to run the trees in the video; they use some fairly sophisticated mathematics (a fractal algorithm) to manage synchronization without requiring communication between controllers, so the system can be expanded to any size that you have control bandwidth for. We've run 20 (that would run 160 strips, more than 38000 pixels) on one laptop over gigabit ethernet before, and it worked fine. Though we didn't actually attach strips to those- our lab isn't big enough!
    Last edited by heroic; 07-25-2013 at 12:42.

  4. #24
    swamidog's Avatar
    swamidog is offline Jr. Woodchuckington Janitor III, Esq.
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    santa fe, nm
    Posts
    1,545,365

    Default

    you can control multiple pixelpushers seamlessly from the software and each pixel pusher can drive up to 8 strips.

    Quote Originally Posted by laserLips View Post
    In the description of the PixelPusher Board on this page.... http://www.heroicrobotics.com/order ... it says that it controls 8 strips. So how do you add more?

    Thanks
    Graham
    suppose you're thinkin' about a plate o' shrimp. Suddenly someone'll say, like, plate, or shrimp, or plate o' shrimp out of the blue, no explanation. No point in lookin' for one, either. It's all part of a cosmic unconciousness.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    792

    Default

    Thanks. How easy is it to do stuff with?

    I guess there would be 3 things I'd like to do.

    Connect to any movie file / Live cam.

    Play coded algorithms (Maths) No idea how I'd do it but ...

    Play dynamic algorithms that use either a sound to affect the output or some other variable.

    Graham

  6. #26
    swamidog's Avatar
    swamidog is offline Jr. Woodchuckington Janitor III, Esq.
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    santa fe, nm
    Posts
    1,545,365

    Default

    what you've described sounds like a perfect task for "processing" http://www.processing.org/

    which.. just happens to work like a champ with pixel pusher.

    Quote Originally Posted by laserLips View Post
    Thanks. How easy is it to do stuff with?

    I guess there would be 3 things I'd like to do.

    Connect to any movie file / Live cam.

    Play coded algorithms (Maths) No idea how I'd do it but ...

    Play dynamic algorithms that use either a sound to affect the output or some other variable.

    Graham
    suppose you're thinkin' about a plate o' shrimp. Suddenly someone'll say, like, plate, or shrimp, or plate o' shrimp out of the blue, no explanation. No point in lookin' for one, either. It's all part of a cosmic unconciousness.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    nerdtown, USA
    Posts
    1,165

    Default

    The first one (movie files) is dead easy- one of the examples we ship plays videos
    The second one (live cam) is also dead easy- we ship a webcam example too.
    Coded algorithms are exactly what Processing is designed for. Check out processing.org, we ship a library that plugs into this and makes it easy to drive LEDs. It takes care of all the work of getting data from Processing to the LEDs in realtime. All you have to do is a little cut and paste and any Processing algorithm comes out on the LEDs.

    We also ship an ArtNet bridge application that connects ArtNet to our system, and there's also a Syphon client.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    792

    Default

    I downloaded Processing. My mind is brimming with ideas. Just checking the wallet. I'm depressed again.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    792

    Default

    seriously tho will have a look at this. Looks wicked.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    nerdtown, USA
    Posts
    1,165

    Default

    If our board is too rich for your blood, there's actually a port of our target protocol to the Raspberry Pi. Obviously it's up to you to get it working with whatever LEDs you have, but it plugs straight into our software, which is all open source. (You're welcome to buy our LED strips separately from the controller!)

    http://forum.heroicrobotics.com/thre...ds-pixelpusher

    Of course, doing this is going to involve a lot of messing around with LEDs- which is precisely what our hardware is designed to avoid. Also, you'll need to figure out some way to feed power to the LEDs, since you can't run them from the Raspberry Pi.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •