Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Quadlex 350 - lex lighting

Default Quadlex 350 - lex lighting

Ok, so I bought a 4 lens laser (on eBay)... Doh!
    Lex lighting quadlex 350

The laser diodes had broken and had been removed.

The unit powers up ok and the step motors / galvos run through a test... But that's it.

Help! (A noob)
    1. Does anyone have a photo of the inside of one of these... So I can check what's missing.
    2. Does anyone have video of the quadlex 350 starting up

I've looked everywhere on the net, and found nothing, so this is my last resort!

Please help

Hi Pugdaddy

Welcome to PL. Where in the World are you?

I'm a bit of a newb too but have learnt enough about lasers to know that cheap lasers are more hassle than they are worth. I had to chuckle when the first video I found on youtube of this laser was to this tune - I am what I am Unfortunately one of the first lasers I purchased as not working from ebay -purely for parts was a Lex laser and upon inspection, most of it ended up going for recycling.

If you really want to get this going, post some photos - if you think there are things missing. Usually with the cheaper lasers, electronics fail due to bad static handling precautions, cheap components or diabolical 'soldering skills'.

Probably the first thing I would do would be to check power supplies (cheap ones die often), then inspect the PCBs to check for dry joints and melted components.

If you think you want to get into lasers though, hang about here. It's a great community and you will soon be spending all of your money building amazing lasers and designing crazy shows!

Keith

Hi Keith
    I'm determined to get it working
    It seems this unit has 2 boards, master and slave.
    Boards are identical other than one has a chip.
    Boards seem ok. I've switched them and moved the chip, but the unit just runs a test sequence on power up.