Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 47 of 47

Thread: Entec box questioin

  1. #41
    Bradfo69's Avatar
    Bradfo69 is offline Pending BST Forum Purchases: $47,127,283.53
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    5,971

    Default

    HOLY FLUCKING HELL!!!! I hate this shit.
    .
    New computer. Same Enttec box. Same operating system (Windows 7 Pro) and same issue as originally described earlier in this thread. After dicking around with it for an hour, I remembered that Jonathan and I solved it with a phone call where we figured out it was the COM port issue.
    .
    So.... I go into Control Panel and Device Manager and everywhere else on this stinking computer and do you think I can find any reference to the damn COM ports???? Of COURSE not! It's nowhere in device manager - hidden or otherwise.
    .
    I can use the Enttec software as mentioned above and it all works fine. Fire up either Quickshow or BEYOND and neither one can find it because it's not on the "COM PORT" they're looking for.
    .
    GRR..... Cucking Fomputers....
    Last edited by Bradfo69; 10-06-2015 at 14:43.
    PM Sent...

  2. #42
    Bradfo69's Avatar
    Bradfo69 is offline Pending BST Forum Purchases: $47,127,283.53
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    5,971

    Default

    Sigh... from everything I'm finding so far, either this laptop doesn't have COM ports or, there is no way in Windows 7 Pro to get to them and reassign them. I don't see a way to do it in Win 8 either.
    PM Sent...

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN & Huntsville, AL, USA
    Posts
    3,121

    Default

    RR

    Metrologic HeNe 3.3mw Modulated laser, 2 Radio Shack motors, and a broken mirror.
    1979.
    Sweet.....

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    2,063

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bradfo69 View Post
    Sigh... from everything I'm finding so far, either this laptop doesn't have COM ports or, there is no way in Windows 7 Pro to get to them and reassign them. I don't see a way to do it in Win 8 either.
    Lots of USB devices act as serial devices and when plugged a virtual com port is created. If you are used to the old days when you hook up your modem to COM1 you might be a bit confused.

  5. #45
    Bradfo69's Avatar
    Bradfo69 is offline Pending BST Forum Purchases: $47,127,283.53
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    5,971

    Default

    Virtual COM port driver took care of the problem. I'm up and working. Sadly, another four or five hours of my limited free time shot to heck.
    PM Sent...

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Atlanta Ga USA
    Posts
    425

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bradfo69 View Post
    Virtual COM port driver took care of the problem. I'm up and working. Sadly, another four or five hours of my limited free time shot to heck.
    Brad - You got my cell number. Just call me next time. I could have probably got you up and running pretty quick. If you dont have it.. then send me a PM and I will shoot it over to you.

  7. #47
    Bradfo69's Avatar
    Bradfo69 is offline Pending BST Forum Purchases: $47,127,283.53
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    5,971

    Default

    Thanks. I do have it - just checked. So... 6 months from now when I forget we went through this again... (cause I'm gettin' old), maybe I'll be calling you!
    PM Sent...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •