Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Why Pangolin?

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    911

    Default

    The "grace period" idea would also allow an individual to use beyond on 10 different festival stages with only one license. I've have personally seen guys using the demo version of madrx on decent sized shows! They had it timed to change effects before the software "timed out". People will take advantage of loop holes if they are available.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The West
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Or, you could step up to a QM card, and not have to worry about any license file at all!
    Another advantage: more robust hardware.
    Plus i know someone selling one for cheap!
    RGB laser projectors
    Pangolin Beyond .NET
    APC40 Midi controllers
    Pangolin FB3 controllers
    DZ splitter
    LS MegaWatt Green Machine

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    3,580

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carlos3621 View Post
    Or, you could step up to a QM card, and not have to worry about any license file at all!
    Another advantage: more robust hardware.
    Plus i know someone selling one for cheap!
    AFAIK you still need a beyond license with a QM card, I have a beyond license file for my QM card

  4. #44
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Authentic Asian food area of SoCal
    Posts
    2,468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flecom View Post
    AFAIK you still need a beyond license with a QM card, I have a beyond license file for my QM card
    Correct. Mine has a license file married to my QM card.
    Those who fail to grasp art are the ones who criticize it.

  5. #45
    Bradfo69's Avatar
    Bradfo69 is offline Pending BST Forum Purchases: $47,127,283.53
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Yeah... each piece of hardware. I have a license for two QM's (pro and intro) and 1 FB3. I'm getting ready to get the FB3 upgraded to Ultimate before the sale is over.
    PM Sent...

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The West
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Correct me if im wrong, but if you have the newer QM card (serial number 10,000+), you dont need a license file, it will open up Beyond, regardless.

    Maybe you all have older cards that do still need a lic. File??
    RGB laser projectors
    Pangolin Beyond .NET
    APC40 Midi controllers
    Pangolin FB3 controllers
    DZ splitter
    LS MegaWatt Green Machine

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    3,580

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carlos3621 View Post
    Correct me if im wrong, but if you have the newer QM card (serial number 10,000+), you dont need a license file, it will open up Beyond, regardless.

    Maybe you all have older cards that do still need a lic. File??
    ya mine is definitely older than 10k serial number, would be interesting if newer QM cards that came licensed for Beyond would just work without a file

  8. #48
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Authentic Asian food area of SoCal
    Posts
    2,468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carlos3621 View Post
    Maybe you all have older cards that do still need a lic. File??
    That could be. Mine requires a license file and my QM is in the 9000 range.
    Those who fail to grasp art are the ones who criticize it.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,513

    Default

    The license has been transferred and works with the current release of Beyond. Pangolin will be repairing the original FB3 and removing its ability to access the license. They moved quickly on this. Hopefully, the FB3 remains stable. I may build a special box just to safeguard it.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,410

    Default

    I would recommend to use your Beyond-critical-FB3 as a licence dongle only.
    Not connecting it to the outside world greatly reduces the risk of it failing. (to the point of acceptable)

    I would also suggest to thoroughly investigate external causes that might have caused your FB3 to die. External causes are far more likely than the occurrence of 'spontaneous combustion'. And if it was an external cause, when not eliminated, it has a very high chance of striking again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •