Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: newb alert

Default newb alert

i was told there would be lasers here.

I'm a computer programmer who's main thing is a midi sequencer on windows. I have fought the win32 api with c++ and lived.

Now I'm going back to my childhood dream of a laserium IN MY HOUSE.

I asked the x-laser company sales team which laser I should get to do laserium.

They said the X-Laser Mobile Beat Mirage. When I saw it's specs I started drooling. Then I saw the price tag.

Now, don't get me wrong, I -will- pay that much if I have to.

From what I understand so far, ILDA is the ONLY way to get new frames into a laser and only the spendy ones do it (right?)

So I want to write my OWN program to send ILDA frames into it and control it's animations with DMX.

So I'll need a laser, usb-dmx thingamabobber and usb-ilda thingamabobber, right?

Without writing drivers, will I be able to write software that talks to those devices?

If somebody could help me or direct me to one of the myriad forums on here, that would be EXCELLEEEENT.

I'm lookin for - which laser? which usb-dmx? which usb-ilda? can i code dmx and ilda without WRiting driver software?

Thanks much,

...Steve

swamidog is online now Jr. Woodchuckington Janitor III, Esq.

there are lasers here!

in the context of your post, ILDA represents a couple of things:

1) a set of standards so laser frame and animation data can be interchanged between laser control software.
    2) a set of projector wiring standards based on a db25 connector.

in the broader context ILDA (the International Laser Display Association) is a trade show organization that helps define standards and laser show safety.

for more information: http://www.ilda.com/