Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: diode mounts and sockets

Default diode mounts and sockets

Hello folks,
    I'm embarking on my first RGB build for home - I'm building the modules and was after some recommendations for mounts.
    I'm using paired diodes - 2 pairs of 5.6mm and a pair of 3.8mm.

Being that it's my first build, and I'm combining combining the beams through PBS cubes, I'd like to opt for a mount that
    1. Allows for easy rotational adjustment of the diode
    2. lets me to use a connection socket for the diode

Does that rule out the Lasershow Parts type brass mount type, which I'd quite like to go for?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	laser-diode-mount-38mm.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	39.2 KB 
ID:	53715
    I guess with a bit of practice, I could learn to orientate the diode (by trial and error if it's not a tight fit, or before I fit it if it is): once it's done, it's done
    I'm less confident I'd be able to fit a socket though, because of the depth of the backplate and because unlike a directly soldered and heatshrunk connection, it's going to leave bare pins passing through that backplate (!)

Or there's the SK12 rail type which fits the bill for both:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	s-l300.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	9.6 KB 
ID:	53714
    But doesn't look as effective from a heatsinking perspective. My diodes are only in the 80 to 200 mW range, but I wouldn't want to risk under-cooling them.

Any thoughts? I appreciate I could suck it up and ditch the connectors but given I've got 6 diodes to work with and I'm not at my happiest soldering, I'd prefer the additional confidence and safety they'll provide.

I rather like them. They are fine

Solder a real connector to the diode rather than pretending whatever you can find that fits will handle the current, voltage, and vibration without killing your diodes