Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Frequency doubling into the yellow

Smile Frequency doubling into the yellow

Hey, I’m a chemist and have a question which might be straightforward for many of you!

I’m made compounds having an extraordinary high second harmonic response at 400/800 nm. I want to now try to make a yellow laser, at 570-590 nm by their irradiation at 1140-1180 nm. There is a market for yellow lasers having watt-level output power level. But first, you need a higher power laser which operates at 1140-1180 nm.

There’s reason to believe that if it were possible to find a relatively high power laser at 1140-1180 nm, these or similar materials would become a reliable yellow laser source. The 1140-1180 nm range is relatively low energy, so it would hopefully not damage the materials.

So far, it hasn’t been possible to locate such a laser There are lasers sources - in the 100 - 200 mW range- but this is too low (He-Ne, Ba(II) and Pb(II)).

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Fenton

mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.

I probably can help with that...
    I need to check a book in the office in the morning.

Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

I think that you have hit the nail in the head-- the reason why yellow lasers are expensive is not the lack of doubling crystals (generally, any crystal that works for 532nm would work fine in the yellow with a slight temperature/angle/polling etc change) but there are few efficient laser mediums lasing at ~1150nm.

The current state of the art for commercial work is optically pumped semiconductor (OPS) materials, such as is used in the coherent taipan https://www.coherent.com/lasers/lase...0-nm-to-577-nm (6W in the yellow, ~10% electrical-optical conversion efficiency).