Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to fibre optics

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    454

    Default how to fibre optics

    Hi
    I have two Oclaro 700mw modules...how could I use fibre optics to correct the beams of one or both of these lasers at the same time(as if I don't need a PBS cube) is it possible?
    Thanks x
    Peace,Respect

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,791

    Default

    Everything is possible,
    But the cost, coupling efficiency and alignment issues make it probably not worth the effort.
    The highest coupling efficiency per diode you'll get is probably 500mW best case.

    (Unless you're just doing it for interest / knowledge)
    - There is no such word as "can't" -
    - 60% of the time it works every time -

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    454

    Default

    That all doesn't bother me so much...what bothers me is to have a beam profile suitable for an RGB projector...or what red is suitable what about the 2.5W 638nm diode wouldn't it be worthwhile then?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    ... did some testing with a 300mw@405nm-diode and "fiber-optimizing" the beam for an DLP-beamer years ago.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	114319.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	31.6 KB 
ID:	54288Click image for larger version. 

Name:	114323.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	55.8 KB 
ID:	54287Click image for larger version. 

Name:	114324.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	33.3 KB 
ID:	54286Click image for larger version. 

Name:	114325.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	27.0 KB 
ID:	54285Click image for larger version. 

Name:	114326.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	32.0 KB 
ID:	54284

    You'll loose up to some ten percents of power, but the beam shape will be perfect symmetrical round ...

    Viktor

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio
    Posts
    2,124

    Default

    How about noise? When you move the fiber you get different modes showing up. Did you spatial the result? I expected to see a bunch of hot spots.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    ... not with a "thick enough" fiber

    This was made with a 0.5mm thick polymer fiber, so any "laser modes" will average away and the output is "homogenized" as with a LED ...

    Viktor

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •