Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Fresh meat trying to decide between two similar products for home use.

Question Fresh meat trying to decide between two similar products for home use.

Hello all!
    47 year old mechanical engineer, Inspector and laser noob here.

I have been looking to buy an RGB projector for home/personal use and came across the same two recommendations over and over in my search here.

Essentially, the recommended units for the home user looking to have a few nice lumia effects and a proper ILDA port comes down to either the LaserKing LK-PD3, or the Laserworld Pro Series.

Laserworld, from what I can tell is more expensive, but higher quality?

But, I cant help but notice that the Laserking has considerably higher output vs the Laserworld despite being less expensive.

The Laserking LK-PD3 specs:
    http://www.laserking.com.hk/products_show.asp?proid=412

R: 300mw | 638nm
    G: 200mw | 532nm
    B: 500mw | 450nm

The Laserworld Pro 800 (which is more expensive, but appears to have approx less than half the beam strength for double the money?)
    https://www.laserworld.com/shop/lase...proline-series

R: 120mw | 637nm
    G: 120mw | 532nm
    B: 460mw | 1.3

The Laserworld Pro 1600 comes closest to the LK-PD3 spec wise, but is 3 times as expensive unit over the LaserKing!

I will be the first to admit, I don't know my ass from my elbow when it comes to lasers.
    Am I comparing these units properly?
    Any other unit recommendations?

"Any" insight would be greatly appreciated!
    Last edited by Vectorfire; 08-06-2018 at 09:39.