Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: HGM Elite Ultra Laser

  1. #11
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,094

    Default

    Here is the reply from my friend....
    ~
    I quote:
    "There is no "easy" way. Unless you want to do a major hack on the diode drive and light feedback, he will need to have a footswitch and a barcode fiber or fiber cheater. I can get you those if you want. With the right barcode, he won't need to worry about anything in the accessory port. I don't think he will be too impressed with the laser in any kind of hobbyist application. They are built for short pulses and have a really crappy beam mode which mode shifts badly. I doubt they can maintain a continuous beam of more than a few hundred milliwatts and they are notoriously intolerant of moving around and dirt."


    I might be interested in it for parts if he wants to sell it or trade for something else like say, an ion of some sort. Does he have any other accessories or a slit lamp adapter? Are you sure it's complete and intact inside? Let me know.

    End Quote....
    ~

    Considering the man owns a large warehouse of lasers, you might want to consider a trade. They DO mode hop like crazy, I've helped him R&D a repair once.
    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    216

    Default

    I am fairly saturated with argon lasers. However, if your friend has a power supply for a Lexel 88, I would be interested in a trade. I don't know what the relative value of the HGM Elite to a Lexel 88 PS. However, if he has one perhaps we can come to an equitable trade.

    The other option is just trying to start the laser with the barcode and foot switch. The foot switch plug has three wires, red, black, and white. The red and black wires are showing 12 volts. If your friend is willing to provide the pinout of a foot switch, then that part of the puzzle could be taken care of. The other piece of the puzzle is the barcode. Is your friend willing to sell a barcode that will satisfy the laser controller?

    Thank you,

    Willie

  3. #13
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,094

    Default

    I see what he wants for a code sheet and a foot switch. Usually the foot switches have two microswitches in them with some sort of inverted connection or current draw scheme to prevent false triggering
    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Any reply from your friend? Thank you.

  5. #15
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,094

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turbohead View Post
    Any reply from your friend? Thank you.
    Talking to him on phone now...

    Arranging for a bar code... Do you have access to a 1200 dpi printer?

    Does the bar code motor spin?

    You realize that this is a 1.8 watt max laser for a half second and then the mode goes to hell in a handbasket?
    Typically 800 mW for 0.1 second then a 5:1 pulse duty cycle and shut down if you command it to go more then one second.

    Eye surgery... pulsed laser, not cw,,,,,, Its not a "Lightwave half note", its a "W" fold inside for high power , lousy mode. The pump diode is 40 watts, and will melt the crystal if you run it CW over a 200 mW or so..

    Steve
    Last edited by mixedgas; 02-18-2019 at 18:04.
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Yes I have access to a 1200 dpi printer.

    When I turn on the laser and it asks for a code, I do not hear any motor sounds. There is just a narrow slot on the face of the aperture where the fiber optic cable is inserted. One of my posts has a close-up picture.

    Yes, I do realize that this is a pulsed laser.

    Thank you.

  7. #17
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,094

    Default

    stuck bar code motor "no spin" is the most common fault.
    fix the bar code reader.. clean the motor..

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Yes, there is a tiny motor on the left hand side of the aperture. The right hand side is a laser diode.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2558.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	2.34 MB 
ID:	55119

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2559.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.37 MB 
ID:	55120

    The markings on the motor, "FAULHABER Mini motor 0816 N 008S.

    The motor is unfortunately seized. After removing the scanning mirror, I was able to manually rotate the motor shaft. However, it will not spin with DC power spplied.

    I guess a barcode is useless without the scanning mirror.

    At this point, I think I'll try applying power power directly to the 808nm laser diode with my Vicor FlatPac just to see if this unit will generate a beam.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •