Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: HGM Elite Ultra Laser

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    218

    Default HGM Elite Ultra Laser

    Hello,

    I need help getting a HGM Elite Ultra Laser to work. After hot wiring the key switch, case interlock, and inserting a rod to simulate a fiber optic probe, I get a message on the front panel that states "code."

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2548.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	2.14 MB 
ID:	55086

    I do not have any other foot switch or accessories. There is a four pin plug in the back that has a white, red and black wire with a symbol that I am assuming means foot pedal. The red and black wires measure 12 volts.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2547.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	1.84 MB 
ID:	55087

    Questions:

    Does anyone know if there is a default "code" ?

    How does one enter the "code?"

    How does one satisfy the foot switch connections in the back?

    What is connected into the ACC plug on the front panel?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,123

    Default

    No footswitch connection and no endo/oto probe delivery (ACC) connection.. You'll get a code or two. I'll ask my friend, but I'm not expecting a response as he still refurbs these.

    Steve
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Thank you for inquiring about the codes. I can understand your friend's reluctance to share. The alternative would be to operate the laser outside of the control electronics and drive the 808nm laser independently with a DC power supply like this:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2tjYVeKrLk

    http://www.swissrocketman.fr/2w-gree...e,fr,3,110.cfm

    The one in the video is a Coherent laser diode. Per the Coherent spec sheet, the 808nm laser is driven with 2VDC at <30 amps.

    If your friend is not able to share the unlock code, can you please ask him what voltage and current the HGM 808nm module requires?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    998

    Default

    ... I've disassembled some old medical lasers - they used "coded" optical fibers and didn't start without a proper type ... for this they have an antenna around the fiber connector - check, if you have something similar.

    And for my own projects I'm actually sourcing 808nm-diodes - got some bar-diodes with rectangular beam and some optical focussed or FAP-types with FSMA-connector and powers of up to 25Watts @808nm ... awaiting another one with 500 Watts(!) @808nm out of an FSMA-connector too.

    Here I've posted some images of the diodes running and/or opened - https://photonlexicon.com/forums/sho...ng-and-marking

    Viktor
    Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?426
    Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?425

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Thank you for the insight about the fiber probe.

    There does appear to be a red LED and a slot where the fiber probe is inserted.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2549.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	3.48 MB 
ID:	55093

    I'm not sure what is needed to be inserted into the slot to satisfy the controller.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    998

    Default

    ... in my fiber-handles for the medical lasers is a sort of RFID-chip, so you'll need a fiber-handle meant for your laser type, if this is coded too ...

    Viktor
    Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?426
    Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?425

  7. #7
    mixedgas's Avatar
    mixedgas is online now Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.
    Posts
    9,123

    Default

    Usually on most late model HGMs, a circular bar code on a disc perpendicular to the fiber. That is what that slot usually is. But I think your seeing the aiming laser.
    ~
    There is a test bar code, and then there are "probe" bar codes. See if you have a very tiny bar code reader. Usually the bar code module results in problems for the medical user after some long period of time. In fact usually the laser is fine and the custom bar code module dies.
    ~
    My friend is out of reach until tomorrow, I did email him your pictures.
    ~
    I would not mess with the fiber head until he replies. I've been in his shop enough to know those fiber feeds are sensitive to abuse.
    ~
    See if there is a large "brick" in there by Lambda EMI. If there is, life just got easier. If there isn't, it is a HGM PSU Board.
    If it is the brick, it has been modified to be a constant current source, but it is not so easy as just driving the brick as there are protection circuits. If it is not the brick, see if there are four or five very large FETS on a heatsink right next to each other.
    ~
    Can you shoot a vertical shot of the unit so I can see the electronics and the laser module. I'm privy to a few things about that laser, but I cannot sketch the schematics from memory like he can.
    ~
    The name "Elite" covers a few generations of device.
    ~
    Steve
    Last edited by mixedgas; 02-12-2019 at 08:14.
    Qui habet Christos, habet Vitam!
    I should have rented the space under my name for advertising.
    When I still could have...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    218

    Default

    More Pictures. There does not appear to be a Lambda power supply. The high current black wires connect to a board labeled "FR AUX PS."

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2551.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	3.02 MB 
ID:	55095

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2552.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	4.04 MB 
ID:	55096

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2553.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	2.31 MB 
ID:	55097

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2554.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	4.14 MB 
ID:	55098

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2557.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	3.61 MB 
ID:	55099

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2555.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	3.78 MB 
ID:	55100

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    218

    Default

    By the way, I do have a VICOR FlatPac, 3.3V, 60 amps, that I have used to power FAP diodes.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2556_sm.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	731.7 KB 
ID:	55101

    Reading the specs for Coherent FAP laser, it appears 2VDC is the proper voltage.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    998

    Default

    ... controlling LD's by voltage isn't a good idea - it should be done by controlling the current -- and for this you'll need a PS with more voltage, for the voltage drop across the constant current regulators.

    I have to support the CC circuits with 2.5 to 3 Volts more than the diodes max. working voltage to use it over the full range ...

    Viktor
    Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?426
    Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - https://reprap.org/forum/list.php?425

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •