Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: any hope for higher power diodes on the near future?

Default any hope for higher power diodes on the near future?

Hey all. I found a link to this forum by googling "Tech Ingredients". Some of you probably know the person behind the channel. https://www.youtube.com/user/TechIngredients
    I'm not a laser expert nor do I do laser shows professionally but I have built few laser projectors following his guides on Youtube.

I've noticed that in the last few years the advancements in high power visible light laser diodes has become somewhat stagnant. I am able to overdrive the Red to 1W, green to 1W and have a disbalanced 7W blue. It's a shame the red and greens are lacking behind and I don't have the necessary budget and knowledge to explore DIY DPSS green and red modules.

is there any hope we will see higher power red and green diodes in the near future?

Well for those of us that started with ion and were over the hill about 35mw of red and 100mw total green and blue....

Even having blue and green diodes AT all is beyond cool. Be grateful.

My last hold outs are yellow 575 diodes and then true orange 610.

Quote Originally Posted by neilhrgd View Post

is there any hope we will see higher power red and green diodes in the near future?
    There's always hope, but there are some technical challenges to overcome- the biggie being heat dissipation. You can always get more light out of a semiconductor laser by throwing more current at it, and it will happily oblige until it goes into thermal self-destruction. In general, heat dissipation is an issue for ALL semiconductor devices that handle substantial power...it's the same issue overclockers have to deal with: how to remove A LOT of heat from a very small area as quickly as possible.

Quote Originally Posted by kecked View Post
    and then true orange 610.
    You should be able to shift a single mode 638nm red down to ~610nm if you can keep it at -80˚C