Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Dead Red Diode?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    23

    Default Dead Red Diode?

    One of our 4 yr old Able 2.5w RGB systems has a 500mw red diode that was slow to come on for a while and then gradually just quit showing up. Opened the unit up and was hoping for a bad connection. Sprayed and reseated everything I could get to, including the brightness trim pot on the back but no luck.

    Wondering is it the diode, or a component on the card? The coax 5v connector going to the card shows a good 5v, but my electronics knowledge here is just at the "monkey see, monkey do" level. More familiar with the old gas ion Spectra's and Coherents.

    In a perfect world it would be possible to just get another 500 mw or even 1w red diode with the same exit beam height and just swap it out and plug in the Dsub connector. Don't want to go too bright 'cause it might start stepping on the 360 video in the dome.

    Have attached a shot of the diodes.

    Thanks in advance for anyone's hints on this.

    Craig
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Able_RGB_Diodes.jpg  


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Looks like CNI laser sources.

    Greetings
    Poul Moeller - Laser Power ApS Denmark.


    Quote Originally Posted by Slide View Post
    One of our 4 yr old Able 2.5w RGB systems has a 500mw red diode that was slow to come on for a while and then gradually just quit showing up. Opened the unit up and was hoping for a bad connection. Sprayed and reseated everything I could get to, including the brightness trim pot on the back but no luck.

    Wondering is it the diode, or a component on the card? The coax 5v connector going to the card shows a good 5v, but my electronics knowledge here is just at the "monkey see, monkey do" level. More familiar with the old gas ion Spectra's and Coherents.

    In a perfect world it would be possible to just get another 500 mw or even 1w red diode with the same exit beam height and just swap it out and plug in the Dsub connector. Don't want to go too bright 'cause it might start stepping on the 360 video in the dome.

    Have attached a shot of the diodes.

    Thanks in advance for anyone's hints on this.

    Craig

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    698

    Default

    It's been my experience that when a diode fails it fails. Perhaps a power on delay circuit is the culprit...
    "There are painters who transform the sun into a yellow spot, but there are others who, with the help of their art and their intelligence, transform a yellow spot into the sun." Pablo Picasso

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    23

    Default China

    Quote Originally Posted by Laserpower View Post
    Looks like CNI laser sources.

    Greetings
    Poul Moeller - Laser Power ApS Denmark.
    Yes Able is a mainland company.

    Thx,

    Craig

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    23

    Default Diode Failure

    Thx, first time I've had one fail. There is a short power-on delay on the unit, but it seemed to delay all three diodes uniformly.

    I was hoping I could just track down a replacement diode that would drop in without a bunch of alignment dancing. I have no idea what a 500mw or 1w Chinese red diode might cost these days though. Of course if the card is bad I've still got the problem.

    Maybe I'll have another look inside again. It's so jam packed in there it's hard to get at anything though.

    Thanks again,
    ,
    Craig

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    23

    Default

    I should at least use the correct terminology, sorry. It would be a laser module that needs replacing, not just the diode

    Craig

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    veenwouden
    Posts
    2,542

    Default

    The module can be fixed but its only a 500mw source wich cost nothing these days. However Able doesn,t sell modules but they might help you and sell you a replacement one.

    I can fix the one you have by replacing the diode and also you get a new driverboard so then its just install it back and connect power and modulation. Price for the repair would be 600usd.

    Kind regards

    Johan


    Interested in a system or modules? Feel free to contact us directly!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks for the service offer. I may wind up going that route. I'll poke around on the card a bit more first to see if it's anything obvious.

    Just curious, does anyone know if there is any convention on a standard height for the exit beam from various laser modules, or is each manufacturer different.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    veenwouden
    Posts
    2,542

    Default

    Beamheight is different from each manufacturer. Most manufacturers have a beamheight of 28mm some a bit more. We have 34mm for example. There is no real standard to it.


    Interested in a system or modules? Feel free to contact us directly!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks for the info. Who was it that said "the nice thing about standards is that we have so many"😏

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •