Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 200mW projector build

Default 200mW projector build

Hi folks,

since this is my first post, here's a quick intruduction:
    My name is Jan, I'm a mechanical engineering student from central Europe. I've "played around" with lasers years ago (after I saw my first laser show at a local swimming pool ). I'm a big fan of diy, so I started building the usual lissajous stuff. Unfortunately lasers were really expensive back then so I eventually moved on to other projects. Other projects usually involved various electronics and high voltage stuff.

Only recently I discovered that green and blue laser diodes not only exist but are available at reasonable prices (not sure how I had missed this for so long). I figured it would be a great time to get back into the hobby and have some fun building a small projector, which brings me to the second part of this post (that will hopefully be more interesting than boring facts about me):

I wanted to build a projector for use in small rooms (essentially just so I could watch a few shows by myself).
    I did not need a huge amount of power so I ordered a few diodes that would hopefully get me to roughly 200mW white:
    - 660nm/120mW Ushio HL6545MG
    - 520nm/50mW Osram PLT520_1_2_3
    - 450nm/85mW Sharp GH04580A2G

I made diode mounts from 20x25mm (~0.8x1'') aluminium flat bar. Mirror mounts were made from aluminium angle stock and a piece of flat bar. The lasers were then mounted on a piece of aluminium plate. I added a small PCB to each laser diode to prevent mechanical stress from soldering wires directly to the diode terminals. I also added a shottky diode for reverse voltage protection and a resistor to (hopefully) mitigate damage from light ESDs.

The finished laser assembly and the galvo block were then mounted to a second piece of aluminium plate. The galvos are leftovers from a previous project. I believe the galvos are called "SP-20K", not really sure about that though.