Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Creating first ILDA

Default Creating first ILDA

I am just getting into animating for laser displays.
    I already animate in AE and MAX, what is the best way to get my animations to ILDA format for display?

How do you define specific splines for color?
    For instance, I have a simple text logo that has 3 colors.
    Do you render for each color pass?

Excited to learn the process!

If there is already a guide for this please point me in the right direction
    Thanks!

You can export in full color dxf files and import them into LaserBoy.
    Creator of LaserBoy!
    LaserBoy is free and runs in Windows, MacOS and Linux (including Raspberry Pi!).
    Download LaserBoy!
    YouTube Tutorials
    Ask me about my LaserBoy Correction Amp Kit for sale!
    All software has a learning curve usually proportional to its capabilities and unique features. Pointing with a mouse is in no way easier than tapping a key.

Quote Originally Posted by 3DPiper View Post
    I am just getting into animating for laser displays.
    I already animate in AE and MAX, what is the best way to get my animations to ILDA format for display?

How do you define specific splines for color?
    For instance, I have a simple text logo that has 3 colors.
    Do you render for each color pass?

Excited to learn the process!

If there is already a guide for this please point me in the right direction
    Thanks!
    You change the color as you draw, in one pass. ILDA defines a point as a color, which means the laser beam will travel from its current point (wherever that is) to the specified point, using the specified color. Would be nice if there was more control so that you could apply gradients but there is no way to control the speed of the galvos other than applying a lot of points with small steps.

Quote Originally Posted by james View Post
    You can export in full color dxf files and import them into LaserBoy.
    Thanks! I will check it out!