Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intro and laser project

Default Intro and laser project

Intro: I'm a software engineer professionally, but I dabble in many other areas - electronics (mostly digital), mechanical engineering, CNC machining, welding, physics, and science in general.

How did I end up here? Well, my interests certainly align But, it started with a statement from a friend, "I bet you can whip that up in a weekend"...and I agreed....ahhh, yes.... hubris What were we referring to? A dumb idea to use an RGB laser projector in the dumbest possible way - to project Christmas lights onto a house's upper levels! I figured, you wouldn't need expensive lasers, expensive galvos, or expensive DACs. That much, may still be true, but I'm yet to find out

So, what I started with was the lowest power analog/TTL RGB laser I could find (3W combined power...), not necessarily the cheapest galvos, but nearly the cheapest, "30kpps" (ha!), and the soundcard DAC? Didn't even try. Under electronics I said "mostly digital"...so the correction amp didn't seem like something I wanted to take on yet. So, I bought an ether-dream. (or 2).

Things went predictably wrong, the laser maxed out its PWM dimming at 5KHz which was great for making ant trails. Had I known I would be replacing the driver, I'd have bought a much lower power laser. Though, its nice having the power there "just in case I need it" I'd never use this thing to make any sort of public display though. This will be for my learning, and jollies only. Of course, the idea that the PWM would be synchronized to the DAC is pretty laughable. That would have required some sort of clock synch somewhere. It might have been possible to use a soundcard DAC, and sacrifice a channel as a sync source...but that was way more than I was thinking at first!