Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is advanced training necessary to construct a microchip laser?

Default Is advanced training necessary to construct a microchip laser?

Hello. I have little experience with construction of my own lasers. I would like to build a microchip laser. It is a special type of solid state laser. I am wondering what training I would need to succeed in building a microchip laser. Let me give you some background on myself. I have taken basic courses in electronics. I have an Oscilloscope and DC Power Supply. A CNC machine is forthcoming. I am confident that I could build a xenon flashlamp pumped ND:YAG solid state laser. I have a book with designs by Iannnini.

However, it seems that the microchip laser differs drastically from the basic solid state laser concept. The best information is by professional organizations and is written for post graduate students. However, there are several such sources.

I am wondering if one really does need to take several courses in photonics just to understand the construction of the microchip laser.

What impacts the cost of a microchip laser? What might be an affordable Nd:YAG based diode pumped microchip laser, regardless of power in joules?

mixedgas is offline Creaky Old Award Winning Bastard Technologist
    Infinitus Excellentia Ion Laser Dominatus
    A lab with some dripping water on the floor.

two things:

Lapidary Skills for making the microchip.
    Dielectric coating application for the mirrors.

Home lapidary setups are pricey. Making laser grade flats is not easy. Coatings are done by expensive professionals.

if you mean buying a Green MCA dpss crystal assembly from Ebay,and gluing it to a heat sink, then diode pumping it, that is a easy,rewarding, project. You then just need brass and a drill press on the mechanical side.

Microchip laser has unique connotations, generally means making subnanosecond pulses by very thin precision crystals.

Steve
    Last edited by mixedgas; 10-06-2023 at 08:55.