Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why USB?

Default Why USB?

Hi! I'm just wondering about a few things. Why is everyone using USB DAC's? Hooking up two DAC0832's to the printer port is very simple and works fine. I know that it may be hard to have full color and such features but for me and some others using single color simple systems it would be easier and cheaper. There seems to be no open source USB DAC's either... I'm still waiting for "Spaghetti" to support DAC0832 as promised. I may be waiting in vain since it seems that the trend amongst most software programmers is to skip the DAC0832 support in new versions of their software. I'm just a cheap hobbyist and I don't want to spend a lot of money on a DAC that I could make myself. I'm seriously thinking of skipping the PC and run all my shows from a SD card...

Don't say that the old printer port is to slow now.
    30kpps @8bits => 30k * 2 * 8 = 480kbit/s
    The ECP specifies 2.5Mbit/s transfer speed and this shouldn't be a problem even for an older PC...

I'm using Norms software at the moment but that is so full of bugs that its barely usable... It also nearly freezes my old p3 1000. Seems to run smoth on my core2 machine but it really shouldn't need all this processing power to run...

Just felt like whining a bit

I think one of the problems we've seen at the laser meets, is that parallel port DAC's have sample jitter problems. Perhaps the problem could be rectified with a well designed parallel port DAC, but another problem, is that alot of laptop's these days don't even have a parallel port! So a DAC on the USB port seems to work well and just about every computer now has a USB port. Of course the best bet is to have a QM2K with a .NET board.

Default dacs