Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 10k scanner, scan angle

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,616

    Default 10k scanner, scan angle

    got my dt40 which have been tunned by bill, he removed the pot and they use pin 12 and 13 is it? X and Y -

    my 10k use pin 25 ground and the scan angle is half the size (give or take) of my dt40.

    how can i get the 10k bigger to match my dt40 more? use X and Y ground?
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat


    Aluminium Optic Mounts

    http://www.laser-man.co.uk/opticmounts/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Guangzhou, china
    Posts
    29

    Default X-,Y-

    maybe, you can connect X-/Y- to GND.
    only use X+, Y+, and adjust the 10K galvos size. increase the galvos size.
    Last edited by laserpic; 10-02-2008 at 00:45.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sheepsville, Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,372

    Default

    Andy
    I hope you havent connected one scanner to X and Y-
    Have your 10ks got differential inputs?

    Rob
    If you need to ask the question 'whats so good about a laser' - you won't understand the answer.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Laserists do it by the nanometre.

    Stanwax Laser is a Corporate Member of Ilda

    Stanwax Laser main distributor of First Contact in UK - like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/FirstContactPolymerCleaner
    www.photoniccleaning.co.uk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,009

    Default

    Add a simple x2 amplifier


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,616

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stanwax View Post
    Andy
    I hope you havent connected one scanner to X and Y-
    Have your 10ks got differential inputs?

    Rob
    no....

    the scanners works just fine, its just not a wide as my dt40 scanners. but my dt40 have been tunned by bill

    Add a simple x2 amplifier
    but can the scanners hand going wider?
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat


    Aluminium Optic Mounts

    http://www.laser-man.co.uk/opticmounts/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,009

    Default

    They are made for +-10V input, just not differential.
    When you use the +X/+Y and gnd, you're only giving them +-5V

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pflugerville, TX, USA
    Posts
    1,977

    Default

    No need for a 2x amp. Just connect between X+ and X- and Y+ and Y- and you will have +-10V. Just make sure those 10K scanners are actually made for +-10V instead of +-5V. I have a set and can probably verify it this weekend if no one else can. I just need to measure what comes out of the DMX board.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,009

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carmangary View Post
    No need for a 2x amp. Just connect between X+ and X- and Y+ and Y- and you will have +-10V. Just make sure those 10K scanners are actually made for +-10V instead of +-5V. I have a set and can probably verify it this weekend if no one else can. I just need to measure what comes out of the DMX board.
    If you read above, he's using 2 scanners on the same DAC, so he can't do that.

    EDIT: The FB3 is single ended anyways so you won't be able to make it bigger I'm afraid

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    8,616

    Default

    my dt40 use X & Y - even on the fb3.

    ill test see if connecting the 10k to X & Y -makes a difference.
    Eat Sleep Lase Repeat


    Aluminium Optic Mounts

    http://www.laser-man.co.uk/opticmounts/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    93

    Default

    I had the same problem about "half the scanangle" with my LSP-20KPRO and FB3.
    You can get the schematic for a single end to differential board from pangolin for free... It's really simple to build and sits between the FB3 and the amps (no additional psu needed) (2 opamps and a handfull of resistors)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •