Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 129

Thread: First RGB

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kaliningrad, Russia
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Hi guys!
    Quote Originally Posted by xntrix View Post
    That case looks so good!
    ...
    Great work,
    Thank you, David! And congrats on your long-awaited red laser!
    Quote Originally Posted by xntrix View Post
    Did you spray it yourself, or get it done proffesionally?
    If you did it yourself - what kind of preparation and paint did you use?
    I've sprayed by myself.
    The details of the process are here:
    http://photonlexicon.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5714
    Quote Originally Posted by xntrix View Post
    I have found if I do it myself it scratches very easily.
    Do you have bad adhesion or just soft film of paint? Can you take a picture?

    Quote Originally Posted by xntrix View Post
    Is the display showing internal temperature?
    No, it's frequency, the case is 16 years old. It was Pentium 120 MHz. What a beautiful time...

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    232

    Default

    F.I.V.
    Thanks for comments. I think after seeing your thread it is probably down to inadequate preparation and drying between coats!
    Will be more patient with this project.
    Thanks, Regards, David

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    232

    Default Red 635

    Had to strip out projector tonight to mount red.
    Although Bridge had kindly had the red manufactured with the same beam height as my Laserwave, the mounting dimensions are quite different.
    Smaller footprint and mounting holes.
    Also the laser is permanently wired to the PSU/Controller (unlike the blue) which will mean a small change in the metalwork to allow cables to pass through bulkhead.
    Will post more pics very soon.
    Regards,
    David

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,704

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xntrix View Post
    F.I.V.
    That case looks so good!
    Did you spray it yourself, or get it done proffesionally?
    If you did it yourself - what kind of preparation and paint did you use?
    I have found if I do it myself it scratches very easily.
    Is the display showing internal temperature?
    Great work,
    Regards, David
    Another way to toughen the paint if using car paint is with a special coating.

    There's a polish called "Supaguard" (I have it on my car). At a dealership its like 300, but it is possible to pick genuine stuff up on ebay for less than 10. I did and mine was genuine. It comes as an impregnated sponge (sponge with a plstic bag in the centre that you puncture to allow the polish to soak into the spong, you then sponge it on).

    What it does is fill in the uneven surface in the paint with a tough polymer. This makes it resistant to dirt and water but also makes the surface much harder and more scratch resistant as well. For light scratches that get through, you tend to scratch the polish not the underlying paint and these can be cut out then with a little tcut (although it does wear the polish down obviously). Its can't stop heavy scratches but does make it harder so makes them less likely.

    PM me if you want the sellers details.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    232

    Default Testing, testing

    Being an old fogey, I like to take things step by step.
    I have established that the analogue modulation on all three lasers works fine.
    Next step is to align them.
    I woud like to be able to do this with them at reduced power.
    Red is 635 200mw, green 200mw, 473 blue, nominally 50mw.
    If I mount 3 pots ( 10K?) in a box as in the attached (very crude!) diagram, can anyone see why it woud not work?
    Thanks, David
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails testrgb.jpg  


  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sheepsville, Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,398

    Default

    Yes David this should work OK. The other way if its possible with your software is to draw an object in white and reduce the output levels of each laser - In Mamba its easy to do - dont know about Moncha. I know its almost as much faff to connect the DAC and computer up - but they need to be wired up anyway at some point

    Rob
    If you need to ask the question 'whats so good about a laser' - you won't understand the answer.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Laserists do it by the nanometre.

    Stanwax Laser is a Corporate Member of Ilda

    Stanwax Laser main distributor of First Contact in UK - like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/FirstContactPolymerCleaner
    www.photoniccleaning.co.uk

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Thanks Rob, Yes, it looks pretty simple in Moncha - you can set the level of each laser. I just wanted a simple way to do it up in the shed(oooh err!) wthout involving laptop etc.
    Regards, David

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sheepsville, Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,398

    Default

    Dont forget that the 0v of your 5v supply will also need to go the to the modulation inputs or it wont work!

    Rob
    If you need to ask the question 'whats so good about a laser' - you won't understand the answer.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Laserists do it by the nanometre.

    Stanwax Laser is a Corporate Member of Ilda

    Stanwax Laser main distributor of First Contact in UK - like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/FirstContactPolymerCleaner
    www.photoniccleaning.co.uk

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Hi Rob, yes I used a normal bench PSU for testing the modulation, so realise the need for 0V. Thanks, David

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Tonight I put the circuit from above into a box.
    Power is 4.5V from 3 x AA batteries.
    Seems to work fine. I can now control each laser while aligning, which hopefully I will do tommorrow.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails RGBtest.jpg  


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •