Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: video tunnel

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    7,067

    Thumbs up Nice!

    Love, peace, and grease,

    allthat... aka: aaron@pangolin

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    SOUTHAMPTON U.K.
    Posts
    1,357

    Default

    Cool, all you need now is Keira Knightly on very screen.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,700

    Default

    As an aside, I wonder how its done in Vegas?

    Doesn't one of the casinos have the entire roof and walls decked out with some sort of display that displays flying aircraft, clouds etc.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Orkland, NZ or Bavaria, Germany
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by White-Light View Post
    As an aside, I wonder how its done in Vegas?

    Doesn't one of the casinos have the entire roof and walls decked out with some sort of display that displays flying aircraft, clouds etc.
    Yeah individual LEDs or bulbs, common in japan also. Run them off a computer usually.. low res as such but very effective There is a very cool one on the channel store in kyoto. They have RGb led sytem diffusing onto some frosted glass, not so bright and flashy but some very cool 'shadowy' looking effects.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    820

    Default

    i haven't used that company before but i have built a few video walls the problem here is that with the contract they have with sharp aquos say that each screen must have an HD signal so finding a cheap solution is not an option and with that many screens it gonna look pixelated stretched over 50 screens

    so what i am going to do is use some groups of tv's to make small walls
    --
    John
    VJ AIWAZ

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    7,067

    Question

    There is no way to reproduce an HD signal? Maybe similar to using multiple QM cards on multiple projectors all controlled by one. You could mirror a few TVs off each "controller" up to the point you see noticable signal degradation.

    I don't see why TVs cannot up convert low def signal into a decent looking picture; DVD players up convert to high def now, right?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,700

    Default

    What you really need is a huge source video such as something shot for IMAX or using a Red Epic Monstro (28k) sensor.

    That should divide much better amongst the screens.

    (Full HD is 2K BTW).

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    nerdtown, USA
    Posts
    1,165

    Default

    You can run four twin-output video cards from a quad-core Mac Pro running Modul8. Each of those eight outputs can drive three HD video devices with a Matrox TripleHead2Go. The Modul8 video output system is very flexible and can handle rotating individual sections of "output clip". I use this system a lot to drive multiple video outputs from a single video card, and can help you get things working if you need a hand.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    820

    Default

    well i was planing on using a dual head to go since there are a few places with 2 of the same screens next to each other

    but for the larger stuff i am using scalers by tv one total hardware solution


    and as far as using macs umm yea i think ill pass on that one

    --
    John
    VJ AIWAZ

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    nerdtown, USA
    Posts
    1,165

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VJ AIWAZ View Post
    and as far as using macs umm yea i think ill pass on that one
    If you've never used Modul8 you don't know what you're missing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •