Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: DMX software

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN & Huntsville, AL, USA
    Posts
    3,121

    Question DMX software

    I'm looking for ideas for a "user friendly", affordable DMX software package that is geared towards show creation - i.e., the ability to build cues on a timeline (similar to LD Showtime), but more geared towards DMX-oriented objects such as groups, chases, etc.

    I would be interested in using this with an Enttec DMX USB Pro interface. The lights will primarily be 3 and 4-channel LED fixtures - no moving heads!

    Thanks!!
    Last edited by Stuka; 03-09-2009 at 19:15.
    RR

    Metrologic HeNe 3.3mw Modulated laser, 2 Radio Shack motors, and a broken mirror.
    1979.
    Sweet.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Nootdorp, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    162

    Default

    I figure you've already looked at freestyler DMX?
    Life is short.... Ride it hard!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    My momentum is too precisely determined :S
    Posts
    1,764

    Default

    Freestyler is a very good live program but I hate the lack of a timeline.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn NYC
    Posts
    820

    Default

    i have been using sunlite suite but not the pro version so i don't have a time line but the basic does have a good step sequencer
    and has nice live interface (good for touch screen)

    http://www.nicolaudie.com/main.php?id_page=4


    --
    John
    VJ AIWAZ

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN & Huntsville, AL, USA
    Posts
    3,121

    Default

    Guess I'll spend some time with Freestyler - the price is definitely right!

    Thanks for the input!
    RR

    Metrologic HeNe 3.3mw Modulated laser, 2 Radio Shack motors, and a broken mirror.
    1979.
    Sweet.....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Knoxville, TN & Huntsville, AL, USA
    Posts
    3,121

    Default

    Anybody here familiar with "VenueMagic" ?

    http://www.venuemagic.com/

    The whole show control / audio timeline sync was kind of what I had in mind.

    Thanks!
    RR

    Metrologic HeNe 3.3mw Modulated laser, 2 Radio Shack motors, and a broken mirror.
    1979.
    Sweet.....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,039

    Default

    Stuka,

    You asked for all so let me know if I missed a device.

    How we do this:

    Some DMX lighting console can use timecode.

    Showtime can use time code.

    Some Pyro controllers can use time code.

    Some water fountain controllers can use timecode.

    Some video players can send out time code to the above and its sound to the sound desk.

    In this sittuation the video source becomes like a master TC device and also sends the audio to the mixing desk. The only drawback is if you damage the tape during rehersals.

    Options 2 is to use a master time code generator to run the show so that you have some redundancy, if the video fales your show can still carry on.
    Master time code generators are usually solid state and cant realy fail so easy.

    Do not try to do this job with any software application, it will fail eventually.

    Once you crack it, you will also start then triggering other devices from showtime serial or midi out.

    If you need further info PM me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rocklea Brisbane , QLD, Australia
    Posts
    265

    Default

    I use Martin Light Jockey and find it to be a great tool. however is not designed to work with the entec USB, Your looking at about 1 Grand check it out if that in your price budget

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    East Sussex, England
    Posts
    5,205

    Default

    The ever popular (and free) Chamsys MagicQ will have a media timeline functionality in the not too distant future (in beta at the moment) and supports the Enttec interfaces. Some features of MagicQ do require a specific piece of Chamsys hardware (wing, interface, etc) in order to work, but its not clear if this is the case yet with the timeline.

    http://www.chamsys.be/forum/viewtopic.php?t=433

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    417

    Default

    New Mac & Windows lighting software Cuelux works with industry-standard cuelist system.. Will be released soon and is quite affordable..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •