Thread: Why isn't optical storage technology backwards compatible?

Default Why isn't optical storage technology backwards compatible?

"but xytrell, it IS backwards compatible! I burn CDs in my DVDRW drive all the time!"

Yes, in the strictest sense. But you're not using a red diode to burn them, you're still using those old IR diodes. I understand why an IR diode can't burn DVDs (because the focal point is too large to fit many more pits on the same surface) but why can't red diodes burn CDs? Why can't Blu-ray diodes burn CDs or DVDs? And why can't a DVDs-worth of data be written on a CDR using a red laser instead of an IR laser?

I would imagine it has to do with each type of disk medium being optimized for a specific wavelength. I can't say whether or not the materials in a blank recordable DVD would respond properly to 780nm or 405nm light rather than 660, but I doubt it.

As a dye chemist I would say it's because the dye. You see, it is a photosensitive organic dye that is the actual data storage medium. These dyes are only active at certain wavelengths.

Also, I suppose the gratings are designed for a certain wavelength.

So why do game systems (ps3 for example) have three lasers? Factory stamped media doesn't use a dye (or does it?), and as far as the manufacturer is concerned, there is no legitimate use for DVDRs in a gaming system.